Tag Archives: spirituality

Book Review The Luddite’s Guide to Technology

21247087Title: The Luddite’s Guide to Technology

Author: CJS Hayward

Genre: creative non-fiction / religion and spirituality / technology – social aspects

Mammon, as it is challenged in the Sermon on the Mount, represents such wealth and possessions as one could have two thousand years ago. But that is merely beer as contrasted to the eighty proof whisky our day has concocted. The Sermon on the Mount aims to put us in the driver’s seat and not what you could possess in ancient times, and if the Sermon on the Mount says something about metaphorical beer, perhaps there are implications for an age where something more like eighty proof whisky is all around us.

CJS Hayward has written a collection of essays, articles, prayers and even sometimes satirical commentaries on the topic of religion and spirituality, and in particular the connection between religion and technology.

The book gives a critical look into wealth and possessions, and how important they really are. It compares what it said in the old testament, duringthe Sermon on the Mount, and re-evaluates that for the modern era.

An interesting book, and quite enjoyable. Some of the articles and prayers were better than others, but overall the quality was consistent.

Book Review The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

the-best-of-jonathans-corner-front-coverTitle: The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

Author: CJS Hayward

Genre: Creative non-fiction / many genres / religion and spirituality / Eastern Orthodox

The Best of Jonathan’s Corner, newly expanded ​ after getting five star reviews​, is a collection of varied works of Eastern Orthodox mystical theology. It spans many topics and many different genres of writing, but it keeps coming back to the biggest questions of all. It is inexhaustible: the works are independent, and you can read a few, many, or all of them to suit your taste. Fans of CS Lewis and GK Chesterton will love it.

Let me start by saying it’s a long book. Reading it all at once, I wouldn’t recommend. You need to take your time with this, go at a slow pace, discover what is being said and what is not being said. You could also just pick out an essay that grabs your interest and read that one, rather than all of them at once.

That said, I felt enlightened when I finished reading. Mr. Hayward and I don’t agree on everything, but he makes some valid points, and he has a way of talking to the reader that doesn’t make them feel put down (like some non-fiction authors seem to have the habit of doing).

Keep an open mind while reading, and appreciate the logic behind the author’s reasoning, and you’ll probably enjoy this book. I enjoyed it, in any case.

Book Tours: Promo for The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

bestofjonathanscorner

About The Book

the-best-of-jonathans-corner-front-coverTitle: The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

Author: CJS Hayward

Genre: Creative non-fiction / many genres / religion and spirituality / Eastern Orthodox

The Best of Jonathan’s Corner, newly expanded ​ after getting five star reviews​, is a collection of varied works of Eastern Orthodox mystical theology. It spans many topics and many different genres of writing, but it keeps coming back to the biggest questions of all. It is inexhaustible: the works are independent, and you can read a few, many, or all of them to suit your taste. Fans of CS Lewis and GK Chesterton will love it.

Author Bio

wardrobe_full Christos Jonathan Seth Hayward wears many hats as a person: author, philosopher, theologian, artist, poet, wayfarer, philologist, inventor, web guru, teacher.

Some have asked, “If a much lesser C.S. Lewis were Orthodox, what would he be like?” And the answer may well be, “C.J.S. Hayward.”

Called “Jack of all trades and master of many” by one boss, he also wears many hats professionally: open source / IT generalist, front end developer, JavaScript programmer, back end web developer, Pythonista, PHP and Perl user, Django developer, end to end web developer, Unix/Linux/Mac wizard, LAMP guru, SQL generalist, Unix shell (both using existing shells and implementing a new shell), system administrator, researcher, technical writer, usability advocate, UI developer, UX/IA enthusiast, and more.

Hayward has lived in the U.S., Malaysia, England, and France, and holds master’s degrees bridging math and computers (UIUC), and philosophy and theology (Cambridge).

Links

http://tinyurl.com/best-of-jonathans-corner

http://CJSH.name

http://amazon.com/author/cjshayward

http://JonathansCorner.com

Giveaway

The author is giving away business cards! Contact the author through https://CJSHayward.com/contact/ or email him at cjsh@cjsh.name to get a business card!