Book Review The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

the-best-of-jonathans-corner-front-coverTitle: The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

Author: CJS Hayward

Genre: Creative non-fiction / many genres / religion and spirituality / Eastern Orthodox

The Best of Jonathan’s Corner, newly expanded ​ after getting five star reviews​, is a collection of varied works of Eastern Orthodox mystical theology. It spans many topics and many different genres of writing, but it keeps coming back to the biggest questions of all. It is inexhaustible: the works are independent, and you can read a few, many, or all of them to suit your taste. Fans of CS Lewis and GK Chesterton will love it.

Let me start by saying it’s a long book. Reading it all at once, I wouldn’t recommend. You need to take your time with this, go at a slow pace, discover what is being said and what is not being said. You could also just pick out an essay that grabs your interest and read that one, rather than all of them at once.

That said, I felt enlightened when I finished reading. Mr. Hayward and I don’t agree on everything, but he makes some valid points, and he has a way of talking to the reader that doesn’t make them feel put down (like some non-fiction authors seem to have the habit of doing).

Keep an open mind while reading, and appreciate the logic behind the author’s reasoning, and you’ll probably enjoy this book. I enjoyed it, in any case.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s